View larger
Charleston Classic Bracket Announced for 2013
Release: 07/17/2013
Share |

The bracket for the 2013 Charleston Classic  – to be played Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 21, 22 & 24, at TD Arena in Charleston, S.C. – has been set for the eight competing teams: UAB, Clemson, Davidson, Georgia, UMass, Nebraska, New Mexico and Temple.

ESPN3 will have five exclusive games and ESPNU will air four, while the Championship Game will be shown on Sunday, Nov. 24 at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

The 2013 Charleston Classic, an eight-team men’s college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format.

Tournament highlights:

·         In’s early men’s preseason top 25 poll, New Mexico is ranked No. 17 and will face UAB in first-round action at 3 p.m. on ESPNU

·         Also on ESPNU, the Georgia vs. Davidson game at 5 p.m. and Temple vs. Clemson at 7 p.m.

·         ESPN3 will carry the Nebraska vs. UMass game at 12:30 p.m.

·         Temple made a NCAA Championship third round appearance, while Davidson and New Mexico advanced to the second round.

·         Temple and Clemson faced off in the 2008 Charleston Classic Championship Game with Clemson winning the title. 

Discounted hotel accommodations as well as game tickets are now available for fans traveling to Charleston. Visit or call 888-632-6951 to make your reservation today.

The Charleston Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

Colorado won the 2012 tournament title. Previous winners include Clemson (2008), Miami (2009) and Georgetown (2010) and Northwestern (2011).

Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant (Schedule subject to change)


Time (ET)



Thu, Nov 21

12:30 p.m.

Nebraska vs. UMass



3 p.m.

UAB vs. New Mexico



5 p.m.

Georgia vs. Davidson



7:30 p.m.

Temple vs. Clemson


Fri, Nov 22


Consolation #1



2:30 p.m.

Semifinal #1



7 p.m.

Consolation #2



9:30 p.m.

Semifinal #2


Sun, Nov 24

1:30 pm

7th-place Game



3:30 p.m.

5th-place Game



6:30 p.m.

3rd-place Game



9 p.m.

Championship Game



ESPN Regional Television
ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN, owns and operates collegiate sporting events worldwide, including two Labor Day Kickoff college football games; seven college bowl games and eight college basketball events. These account for approximately 200 hours of programming, reach almost 64 million viewers and attract nearly half a million attendees each year. The owned and operated events build relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as provide unique experiences for teams and fans. In addition to event ownership, ERT manages the Big 12 Corporate Partner Program.

Collegiate Football

BBVA Compass Bowl (Birmingham, Ala.); Beef ‘O’ Brady’s Bowl St. Petersburg; Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); Gildan New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); Las Vegas Bowl; MEAC/SWAC Challenge presented by Disney (Orlando, Fla.); Texas Bowl (Houston); AdvoCare Texas Kickoff (Houston); Sheraton Hawai’i Bowl (Honolulu) and The Home Depot College Football Awards

Collegiate Basketball

Armed Forces Classic (TBD); Charleston Classic (S.C.); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Jimmy V Men’s & Women’s Basketball Classics presented by Corona Extra (Madison Square Garden & Durham, N.C.); Old Spice Classic (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); Puerto Rico Tip-Off (San Juan, PR); State Farm Champions Classic (United Center, Chicago) and Wooden Legacy (Orange County, Calif.)

For more information, visit

Charleston Athletics

Cougar News
Support Cougar Athletics

Corporate Sponsors
Coca Cola
Sleep Inn
Renaissance Hotel
TD Bank