Harris Teeter Athletes of the Week

Wiggins and Lawrence Honored On NABC All-District 22 Second Team

Courtesy: CofCSports.com
          Release: 03/14/2012
Print RSS
Share |
Article Image
Courtesy: CofCSports.com
Related Links

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - College of Charleston 6-foot-7 senior forward Antwaine Wiggins (Greeneville, Tenn.) and 6-foot-1 junior point guard Andrew Lawrence (London, England) were honored by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) as members of the All-District 22 Second Team as announced on Wednesday.

The NABC Division I All-District teams recognize the nation's best men's collegiate basketball student-athletes. Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America. The 240 student-athletes, from 24 districts, are eligible for the NABC Coaches' Division I All-America teams to be announced on March 20.

Wiggins, a 2012 All-Southern Conference Team selection by the league's head coaches, closed out his five-year CofC career ranked 14th all-time in career scoring with 1,306 points (seventh-most in the program's Division I history), fourth all-time in Division I career rebounding (702) and seventh all-time in career three-pointers made (174). In the fall, he was named one of the best perimeter defenders in the country by Jeff Goodman of CBSSports.com. Wiggins played and started in all 31 games of the season and averaged a team-leading 15.9 points per game which ranked fourth-best in the SoCon.

Lawrence, a 2012 All-SoCon Second Team selection by the league's media, turned in a stellar junior campaign having been one of the initial candidates considered for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award which is given annually to the nation's top point guard. He turned in his first 100+ assist season of his career with 171 and ranked second in the league in assists per game (5.5), first in steals (1.9 avg) and third in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.06). Lawrence will compete this summer with the Great Britain U-23 National Team and is a 2012 Summer Olympic Games hopeful.


First Team

Trevis Simpson, UNC Greensboro

Brad Loesing, Wofford

De'Mon Brooks, Davidson

Mike Groselle, The Citadel

Jake Cohen, Davidson

Second Team

Eric Ferguson, Georgia Southern

Jack Isenbarger, Elon

Antwaine Wiggins, College of Charleston

Andrew Lawrence, College of Charleston

Kevin Giltner, Wofford

More From
CHARLESTON Men's Basketball
Exclusive Live & On-Demand Audio and Video
2015 Men's Basketball Season Preview
Support Cougar Athletics
Cougar News
Uploaded Ad
Sleep Inn
Uploaded Ad