Harris Teeter Athletes of the Week
Article Image
Courtesy: CofCSports.com

College of Charleston Joins The Colonial Athletic Association

Courtesy: CofCSports.com
          Release: 07/01/2013
Print RSS
Share |
Related Links

College of Charleston women's tennis heads to the Colonial Athletic Association after a long run of success in the SoCon.

The Cougars have won five consecutive conference championships with trips to the NCAA Tournament. This past season, senior Christin Newman was named the SoCon Player of the Year, while Angelo Anastopoulo was the SoCon Coach of the Year.

Newman went on to earn Academic All-America Second Team honors as she won the prestigious J. Stewart Walker Cup, the highest award given to a CofC Student-Athlete each year. Her sister, Caroline, represented the women's tennis team by winning the award in 2012.


UNCW won the CAA men’s tennis championship for the third time in the last five years and then knocked off #18 South Carolina in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. William & Mary continued its dominance of CAA women’s tennis by claiming its 22nd conference championship. The Tribe’s Maria Belaya and Jeltje Loomans advanced to the final 16 of the NCAA women’s doubles championship. The CAA has sent multiple men’s teams to the NCAA Tournament in four of the last seven years and multiple women’s teams to the NCAA’s in five of the past eight seasons.

Exclusive Live & On-Demand Audio and Video
2013-14 Women's Tennis Highlights
Support Cougar Athletics
Cougar News
Uploaded Ad
Sleep Inn
Uploaded Ad